4, place Barthélémy"The house that leans
Go to the front of the Church of Saint-Maclou to admire the best-known timber-framed house in Rouen. Located at the corner of the rue Damiette and that of Martainville, this 17th century house has long housed one of the largest cobblers in Rouen.
What makes this one unique is obviously its slope especially visible from the rue Martainville. One of the explanations for this inclination is the creation of the square Barthélémy and the destruction of old terraced houses. It is of course reinforced and no longer in danger of collapsing.
From the place Barthélémy, it is particularly the architecture of the staircase that pleases the many tourists stopping in front. This facade is a former inner courtyard exposed with the destruction of neighboring houses. This house is now one of the symbols of the antique district of Rouen.
8, place de la Rougemare"Le Vieux Logis
Just a stone’s throw from the Chapelle Saint-Louis and the Chapelle Corneille, discover a timber-framed, red-brick house in the neo-Gothic style.
Called “Le Vieux Logis”, this timber-framed house in Rouen rises to three floors. It was built in 1897 by carpenter Ernest Villette for a collector of Gothic and Renaissance art, and carpenter by profession, Charles Morel.
Located at the corner of the Rue du Vert Buisson, this house is fanciful particularly for its numerous wooden sculptures present on its facade and its many architectural details. Vast of 240 square meters inside, this house is one of the most unusual in the Capital of Normandy.
185 Eau de Robec Street"The House of the Four Sons Aymon
In the much-loved rue Eau de Robec, there is no shortage of timber-framed houses. The one that caught our eye is today’s National Museum of Education Exhibition Center, which since 1980 has offered numerous exhibits and objects related to the history of education.
This building, built around 1475, is also called the House of the Four Aymon Sons (the name of a famous late medieval chivalry novel). It is considered one of the most remarkable half-timbered houses in Rouen.
With two corbelled floors, the house is composed of half-timbering covered with a slate roof to protect them from the rain. The facades are classified historic monument and are a delight to photographers discovering this street.
99, rue d'AmiensA historical monument transplanted and dislocated
Here is a half-timbered house in Rouen that has an unusual history. Identifiable very easily with its many statues attached to its facade, the house located at 99 rue d’Amiens that is worth the detour.
His facade is one of the former facades of the Hotel d’Etancourt, a seventeenth century mansion built by the eponymous family, which was located in the heart of a block between the rue du Gros-Horloge and rue aux Ours. Dismantled to avoid the destruction of the facades listed since 1933 when a business was created, they were then reassembled rue d’Amiens.
Only the facades and statues are authentic on this house. The statues represent the four elements and the gods of Olympus. You will find, just in front of this house, the continuation of the facades of the former mansion.
19, rue des Bons-Enfants
Not far from the Place du Vieux-Marché, we suggest you discover the rue des Bons-Enfants, its galleries and artists’ studios, but also its numerous equally amazing half-timbered houses.
Take this street and stop at number 19. Now a housing complex, this colorful half-timbered house featurestypical medieval corbels. Located across the street from Etoupée, this house is particularly notable for the presence on the second floor of a place with a slate canopy that was intended to house a statuette. its stone base and half-timbering are also characteristic of this period.